Results & Photos 2004

1st Salzburg AMREF Marathon (April 25, 2004)

Eight years after the fourth and last Salzburg city marathon, the time had come again: the city of Mozart organized its own marathon. On April 25th the starting signal was given for the 1st Salzburg AMREF Marathon. Despite the constant rain, a strong phalanx of Kenyan runners ensured the expected success for the men. Victory went to Peter Ndironga in 2:19:25 hours. His compatriot Josephat Kiprono Rotich took second place with a time of 2:21:42 hours. Philip Kipkemboi completed the all-Kenyan podium. As the best Austrian, Wolfgang Müllner came in an excellent fifth place.

For a long time it looked like a Kenyan victory for the women too. After 32 kilometers, Lucia Mwihaki Kimani was still around two and a half minutes ahead of Eva Trost from Germany. But the young Kenyan started too quickly and was unable to bring her lead to the finish. In the end, Trost even won by more than seven and a half minutes over Mwihaki Kimani. Third place went to Heidemarie Schiefer from Austria.

The route took the runners from Residenzplatz via Rudolfskai in the direction of Leopoldskroner-Weiher. From there, the route continued further north via Leopoldskroner-Strasse in the direction of the state hospital. The northernmost point of the route was the motorway bridge behind the exhibition center. From there, the participants ran along the Salzach to Mirabellplatz and finally via Linzergasse back to the start and finish area at Residenzplatz. The marathon runners completed the loop twice. The organizer of the 1st Salzburg AMREF Marathon was the ASV/ASKÖ Salzburg. The event was again a charity in favor of AMREF Austria.

Results 1st Salzburg AMREF Marathon:

1. Peter Ndirangu (KEN) – 2:19:25 hours
2. Josephat Kiprono Rotich (KEN) – 2:21:42 hours
3. Philip Kipkemboi (KEN) – 2:24:02 hours

1. Eva Trost (GER) – 2:47:02 hours
2. Lucia Mwihaki Kimani (KEN) – 2:54:48 hours
3. Heidemarie Schiefer (AUT) – 3:04:13 hours

Results half marathon:

1. Joseph Ng'ang'a (KEN) – 1:03:50 hours
2. Musa K. Cherutich (KEN) – 1:03:57 hours
3. John-Kation Maluni (KEN) – 1:05:37 hours

1. Jane-Jebiwot Rotich (KEN) – 1:16:18 hours
2. Eveline Jebkoech-Korir (KEN) – 1:16:56 hours
3. Maria Koch (AUT) – 1:18:11 hours

Side note: In addition to the marathon, the runners could also choose to run a half marathon or two ten-kilometer runs. In addition to the 1st Salzburg AMREF Marathon, the last editions of the Salzburg Half Marathon, the Jedermann Run and the Salzburg New Year's Eve Run took place in 2004.

all results

English (UK)